Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

ttt

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday (a book blogging meme created by The Broke and the Bookish) is centered around books from 2014 that didn’t quite make the cut before January came back around. There are so many fabulous books that were released last year, and although I haven’t gotten to them yet, they’re all on my to-read list for this year.

1. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. Shakespeare AND the apocalypse! I started reading this one, and I meant to finish but just ran out of time. Hopefully I can circle back around to it in a bit.

2. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. Pretty cover, pretty summary, heard good things about it = the triumviate of recommendations, basically.

3. The Martian by Andy Weir. A student recommended this to me, and I bought it two months ago, but it just hasn’t happened yet.

4. The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan. Picture me with grabby hands. That’s me right now about this book.

5. The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History by Elizabeth Kolbert. Cool nonfiction! About history! And humanity’s possible extinction! Count me in.

6. The Paying Guests by Sarah Walters. Recc’d to me by a fellow teacher who usually has good taste. Also has a nice cover, so I want to give it a shot.

7. Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. After reading the first Miss Peregrine’s, I couldn’t wait to read this one – but unfortunately, it got buried underneath the rest of the books in my to-read pile.

8. Panic by Lauren Oliver. I’ve heard mixed things, but I still wanted to check this one out.

9. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll. I’ve only flipped through this one so far, but it looks like a stunning graphic novel with everything I adore.

10. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami. Oh, Haruki Murakami, my love. I can’t wait to get around to this one – as soon as I’m finally finished with 1Q84.

What books didn’t quite make your cut last year, even just because of time constraints? Let me know! And link me to your own TTT!

Tara

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

  1. I read The Opposite of Loneliness last year and I really enjoyed it. Marina Keegan’s whole story is just so tragic that it really puts her writing in perspective. It’s so strange to think that when she was writing those pieces she had no idea that they would someday all end up together in a collection of her work. I’m just glad that more people got to see her writing, because it really is excellent.
    Anyways, great list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

