Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Characters Who Would Be Sitting At My Lunch Table

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is a book blogging meme that was created by The Broke and the Bookish.

School’s back in session! And with it, my teaching job – which is why I haven’t been posting as frequently. However, even though it’s a bit late in the day, I didn’t want to miss out on this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! The theme is to choose characters who would be sitting at your lunch table at school. Back in my high school days, the people I sat with all had the same qualities about them – they were quiet in class but genuinely eccentric, loyal and accepting, and all a bit socially inept. So the book characters who would best fit in with us, I think, would be:

1. Hermione from the Harry Potter series. Her unpopularity, general intelligence, and inability to be, uh, tactful? when making friends? would definitely count her among our ranks.

2. Laurel from Love Letters to the Dead. Her general personality and her intense connection to writing as a form of expression would match her nicely with my group of peers.

3. Adam from If I Stay. My friends, to be quiet honest, were a bit on the punk side. So if we kept Adam’s musicality and style but not his popularity, that’d be us.

4. Sarah from The ListLikewise, I think most of us were completely against the typical popular culture and did our best to stand out, even obnoxiously so. I hate my high school self in retrospect for this.

5. Ethan from The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy. Again, mostly because he’s good-hearted but also inanely sarcastic and pretentious.

6. Craig from It’s Kind of a Funny StoryMostly because he is one of the most realistic characters I can think of who also dealt with mental illness. He’d fit right in with us.

7. Eleanor from Eleanor and Park. Eleanor is, again, a bit off-the-beaten-path in terms of how she dresses and acts, but she’s also very passionate about music and comics, and our lunch table had no lack of passion.

8. Scott from the Scott Pilgrim graphic novels. Scott is an awkward person. He’s also kind of an idiot, but a lovable one who does make mistakes and realizes it. He’d fit right in.

9. Holden from The Catcher in the Rye. Sarcastic, strange, a little bit crazy, as per the theme. Also, I’m putting him on here because I’d want to meet him and the idea of having lunch with him pleases me.

10. Charlie from The Perks of Being a WallflowerNo explanation necessary.

Even though I only ever ate with maybe five people maximum, I think this is a pretty solid list. We’d get along well, I think, and definitely be able to have enough things in common to keep a decent conversation going. Either that, or we’d be able to sit in companionable silence. I think most of these characters wold be the kind that would be okay with talking but also okay with just eating in good company – a wonderful trait.

Let me know what you think of my fictional lunch table and who would be at yours!

Tara

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Characters Who Would Be Sitting At My Lunch Table

Leave a Reply

