Review: Dangerous Reflections

dangerousreflectionscover

Title: Dangerous Reflections

Author: Shay West

Publisher: Booktrope

Publication Date: June 17, 2014

Goodreads / Author’s website / Author’s twitter

I was contacted and asked if Dangerous Reflections sounded like something I’d be interested in reviewing. After reading the summary, I jumped on the opportunity, and thus – here is my honest review! (Bonus: an interview with Shay West is upcoming, so look for that tomorrow.)

A brief excerpt from the author’s website (the same summary that sparked my interest in the book in the first place):

Alexis Davenport wants to go home. She hates her new school, her mother for moving her away from her friends, and her father for walking out.

To make matters worse, Alex is haunted by images of strange girls reflected in her mirror. It’s bad enough juggling homework, a relentless bully, boys, and a deadbeat dad; now, she must save the world from an evil presence hell-bent on changing the past – and our futures. Who knew her A+ in history was going to be this important?

The premise of the book (the first in a series) is that Alex Davenport and her mother move into Alex’s aunt’s guesthouse, in a completely new town, at the beginning of a new school year. While Alex is trying to adjust to the new life she’s been thrown into, she is also dealing with something even stranger – seeing other girls reflected in the mirror where her own reflection should be.

When she touches the reflections, she finds herself sucked into those strange bodies – in different countries, in centuries past. Each time it happens, she arrives in the midst of a history-changing event and is forced to put her life in danger in order to right the wrongs being done to the timeline – though she has no idea how, or why.

I absolutely loved the time travel aspect, and those parts of the book were the ones that I looked forward to reading. Alex’s life with her friends and trouble at school are… okay, but it’s when Alex is thrown into the past and forced to rely on her own knowledge and experience that the book really shines. The imagery is vivid and the characters are so distinct that I felt as if I were the one who had been transported to another world. And even though the book isn’t written in first person, I still felt a distinct sense of empathy for Alex throughout.

There were some parts of the novel that seemed to drag – the pacing was slow whenever Alex was in her normal life, which I mentioned before – but overall, I thought it was both enjoyable and suspenseful. Once I got into the meat of the plot, I finished the book in a day because I was desperate to find out what was happening and why. It’s unclear by the end of the Dangerous Reflections whether the book is more fantasy or science fiction related, but either way, it’s a thrill ride. I’m hoping that I can get my hands on the next book in the series soon.

4 out of 5 stars.

For more information, be sure to check back tomorrow for my interview with Shay West, the author!

Tara

One thought on “Review: Dangerous Reflections

  1. Pingback: Interview with Author – Shay West! | "We know not what we may be."

Leave a Reply

