Top Ten Tuesday: Blogging Confessions

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is a book blogging meme that was created by The Broke and the Bookish.

It’s a bit late in the evening, but I still wanted to participate in this week’s theme: top ten blogging confessions! I’m going to keep them short and sweet.

1. I change around the order of my queued reviews all the time, usually because I’ve written on my “Reviews” page that a certain book review will be posted first but I haven’t written it yet.

2. I have been trying not to post too many reviews in a row because seeing “Review: [Title]” in my right sidebar too many times annoys me.

3. When I go to the library, I immediately go to the “New Releases” shelf and typically check out everything that’s been released within the past two months, just so I have something to review, no matter what the book is about or if it looks interesting to me (and then usually I won’t read half of them, but at least I have the option).

4. I’ve been considering starting a new segment that highlights area bookstores but I’m afraid I’d run out after maybe three posts.

5. I follow a lot of book blogs and I try to read their reviews as often as possible, but if the first few words don’t catch my attention on my dashboard, I don’t bother.

6. Sometimes I’ll have a draft of a post open in a tab for weeks before I actually get around to finishing it.

7. Poor font choice kills me so I’m overly anxious about all of the fonts on my blog – all the time. Even covers with bad fonts make me want to pass up reviewing them because I don’t want the photo of the cover on my blog.

8. In reality, I have very few followers (just 59 right now) and I wish I had more, but I don’t know what I can do to increase traffic. Still, every time I remember that there’s the potential for 59 people to read one of my book reviews, it blows me away.

9. I want to write a post about my senior honors thesis but I’m worried it won’t be interesting to anyone but me.

10. I never thought I’d enjoy book blogging so much!

Feel free to share your own blogging confessions with me below! Or post your own Top Ten Tuesday (just remember to link back to The Broke and the Bookish).

Tara

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Blogging Confessions

  1. I’m not a seasoned pro at this or anything so definitely take my words with a grain of salt. These weekly top ten tuesdays are a wonderful way to meet new bloggers and get your feet wet into the whole experience of the bookish community! And it’s definitely how I got started to garnering more readership! (Speaking of which, I’m terribly backlogged on reading/reviewing, so most of my sidebar is basically TTT posts–so that definitely could be a pet peeve of yours if you ever drop on by to my page). Anyhow, just drop by peoples blog (searching using the top ten tuesday tag in reader etc.) and throw in a comment with a link to your post. Sure, they’ll be haters that dislike the whole marketing thing…but you’d be surprised at how many do, in turn, check your post out and then sometimes–bam, another follow.

    This isn’t the only way to go about things, but with Top Ten’s, that’s what I found worked best for me: to be engaged and responsive to the whole meme!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    • That’s actually a really good idea. I’m trying to figure out how to become more involved with the book blogging community as a whole and that would be doing both at the same time. Thanks!

  2. I never thought I would enjoy book blogging so much either! It’s turned into a major hobby and really a major part of my life too! 🙂
    As far as more followers, my advice is always to just interact with the blogging community and comment on other people’s blogs too. People love comments and they’ll often come back to your blog to return the favor 🙂

  3. I totally agree with #5. My WordPress Reader feed is FILLED with blogs that review books and I scroll past most of them because the opening few sentences don’t “do it” for me. (that sounded way dirtier than I intended it to be :P)

    I need a bit of a help. How do I “link back” to the The Broke and the Bookish if I want to do a Top Ten Tuesdays post? On their post back on their own website, they mentioned something about adding your name to the “linky widget”? I have no idea what that is either. Some help?

    • Ha! I’m glad you agree with #5. As for help – if you do a Top Ten Tuesdays post, somewhere on the post just say that the meme is from The Broke and the Bookish, and put the URL to their site/post. Usually I put the link over the name of their blog. If you don’t know how to do that, let me know and I can give you the HTML – on WordPress it’s pretty easy to add links, though. And then for adding your name to the linky widget – once you post your post, you can go to THEIR Top Ten Tuesday post for the week and at the bottom, you’ll see links to everyone who participated! And a button to add your own. There, you put the URL of YOUR post for THAT week, and you’ll be added! I hope that helps you a bit. ^_^

Leave a Reply

