Review: Now and Forever

nowandforevercover

Title: Now and Forever

Author: Susane  Colasanti

Publisher: Viking Juvenile

Publication Date: May 20, 2014

Goodreads / Author’s website / Author’s twitter

This was the first book I’ve read by Colasanti, and from what I’d heard of her work, I was very excited to try it out. Unfortunately, it came up rather short.

A brief summary from the author’s website:

What if your boyfriend was the world’s biggest rock star?

Sterling is crazy in love with Ethan. Not only is he the sweetest boy she’s ever met, but he’s an incredibly talented guitarist, singer, and songwriter. And since forever, he’s believed he has what it takes to be a star.

When Ethan becomes an overnight sensation, he’s thrown head-first into the glam world of celebrity—and so is Sterling. Before she knows it, she’s attending red-carpet premieres, getting free designer clothes, and flying around the country to attend Ethan’s monumental sold-out concerts.

It’s a dream come true…but whose dream is Sterling living? And what do you do when forever comes to an end?

I don’t actually have much to say about this book, and that’s because it didn’t really leave a lasting impression.

The characters were complex, for the most part, especially Sterling. I managed to find plenty of ways to connect with and empathize with her plight. I also did enjoy how the book started off before Ethan became famous, so I got to see the entirety of Sterling and Ethan’s relationship both when they were a normal couple and also after they were catapulted into the spotlight.

But.

The novel, in general, was both forgettable and predictable. I guessed how the book would end almost before I even started. Okay, slight exaggeration. I could still see the ending from miles away. And because I knew what was going to happen, it became more of a waiting game for me to see when it would.

So Now and Forever didn’t leave a lasting impression. Still, at least it didn’t leave a lasting negative impression. It was pleasant enough to read, and for that reason I’m giving it:

3 stars out of 5.

Tara

Leave a Reply

