Top Ten Tuesday: Book Cover Trends

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is a book blogging meme that was created by The Broke and the Bookish. I’ve noticed that a number of people I follow participate in TTT every week, and I wanted to join in on the fun. This week’s topic: top ten book cover trends I like or dislike!

I’ve linked each cover to the book’s Goodreads page, should any of them be eye-catching. And the books on the “dislike” numbers – I didn’t necessarily dislike the book! Or I won’t dislike it on principle! I just don’t like the cover.

1. Like: Unclear faces. So many covers feature characters with faces that aren’t detailed or distinguishable – which allows me to imagine the characters however I want to, mostly. I think this is a great advantage to these covers.

wewereliarscover  loveletterscover  howtomeetboyscover

2. Like: Backs of heads. Similar to unclear faces, though this is when a character is seen on the cover, but faces the opposite direction from the reader. I just think it’s funny that you can look at a bookshelf and see cover after cover of an indistinguishable backwards-facing person.

everythingleadscover  strangesweetsongcover  tlfcover

3. Like: Feet. (I’m sensing a trend here within these trends). When feet – or legs – play a vital part of the cover image. I like this trend simply because it’s not faces. Also, because the feet/footware usually (though not always) play an important role in the story somehow.

cindercover  lbccover  dkcover

4. Like: One-word titles. Short. Enticing. To the point.

salvagecover  pointecover  teasecover

5. Like: Item-based covers. Similar to my point about the feet – it’s fun to see what the cover-designer deemed most important as an item. These items usually play an important role in the story or have some sort of symbolism behind them.

exilecover  rbcover  artofsecretscover

6. Like: Script-based fonts. I’ve got no real reason for this except they’re SO PRETTY.

thcover  bfcover  sfscover

7. Like: Cartoons. They bring a touch of character, and they make books stand out on a shelf against a hundred books with actual humans on the covers.

thisonesummercover  loveforeigncover  guycover

8. Dislike: Shadowy couples. PLEASE. NO. STOP.

nowandforevercover  jodcover  witwtcover

9. Dislike: Girls in ball gowns. Like, ooooh, another girl in a ball gown. What does this tell me about the book? Absolutely nothing.

windupcover  onecover  threatscover

10. Dislike: Ugly fonts. This one’s not really a current trend – it’s an always trend. I just get really annoyed by poor font choice. And yes, I know “ugly” is severely objective.

sekretcover  deepbluecover  tiscover

What do you think? What are you favorite book cover trends? Which ones make you cringe?

Tara

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Cover Trends

Leave a Reply

