What I’m Up To: June 2014.

So I thought it would be a good idea to do periodical updates about what’s going on in my Real Life. Fortunately/unfortunately (I can’t decide which), I am heading at full speed towards adulthood. Very exciting things have happened in the past month, so here’s the news:

  • I am EMPLOYED. I was offered a teaching position at my old high school after an interview with the principal and most of the English department, and I accepted right away. I’ll be teaching 10th grade English and Honors English starting in August, which is less than two months from now! I can’t believe this is actually happening, and I am equal parts excited and terrified.
  • I will be playing a role in Shakespeare From the Heart‘s summer production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream at the end of July! I’ll give more information about show dates and times closer to the date, but the show is free and all donations will go to our summer charity. I’ll be playing the First Fairy, Titania’s second-in-command. I have a monologue, a scene with Puck, and even a song or two. I can’t wait for real rehearsals to start – we had our first read-through last week, and I know the show is going to be amazing.
  • I will also be volunteering at the Karpeles Manuscript Library in Fort Wayne, starting shortly. They have traveling exhibits that show manuscripts, first editions, and maps to the public for free. I’ll be giving tours and sharing information, for the most part. I also might be pulling weeds out front. We’ll see how that goes.

Other than that, I’ve just been reading, relaxing, and marathoning “Orphan Black” and “Orange is the New Black” on Netflix. It’s been a pretty great summer so far.

I’ll update again in July when I’ll know more about my new teaching job and when I can share more information about our play!

Tara

3 thoughts on “What I’m Up To: June 2014.

  1. Pingback: Presenting: A Midsummer Night’s Dream! | "We know not what we may be."

Leave a Reply

